Mysore Palace 004 1A

Y-01. Taster

Current Status
Not Enrolled
Get Started
This course is currently closed

‘Among the eight limbs, the first two limbs, yama and Niyama, are often neglected by the practitioner. However, every practitioner must remember that first and foremost, yogic practice is built on these two pillars. Yama (restraints) and Niyama (observances) make the sadhaka (practitioner) physically, mentally, morally and spiritually fit to continue Yoga practice …

… Niyama involves the practices of saucha (cleanliness), santosa (contentment), tapas (austere practice), svadhyaya (study of spiritual scriptures, self-study), and Ishvara pranidhana (surrender to the Lord). Practice of Yoga that neglects these restraints and observances becomes an irreligious, irrational, immoral, and fruitless practice. Unfortunately, a human being is by nature caught in a web of moods, emotions, and instincts. He is violent, aggressive, quarrelsome, ferocious, intolerant’.

Iyengar Geeta, The practice of Niyama

This Taster subject contains articles, videos and quotes. It is advisable to not rush through our subjects consuming the content quickly. Apply a reflective mode where you might read an article prior to or immediately after practice. Where quotes are used they are often accompanied by an extract of the text. Look up other quotes used (as they often have the source and page noted) and read the complete portion of the text.

Alan’s Introduction to Yama and Niyama.

Shopping Cart