Img 3773B E1610425058937

T-Ph09. Vrttis & Klesas

Current Status
Not Enrolled
Get Started

‘The five afflictions which disturb the equilibrium of consciousness are: ignorance or lack of wisdom, ego, pride of the ego or the sense of ‘I’, attachment to pleasure, aversion to pain, fear of death and clinging to life’.

Iyengar BKS, Light on the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. p.111.

‘These endless cycles of fluctuations are known as vrttis: changes, movements, functions, operations, or conditions of action or conduct in the consciousness. Vrttis are thought waves, part of the brain, mind and consciousness as waves are part of the sea’.

Iyengar BKS, Light on the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. p.14.

Yoga is defined as restraint of fluctuations in the consciousness. It is the art of studying the behaviour of consciousness, which has three functions: cognition, conation or volition, and motion. Yoga shows ways of understanding the functioning of the mind, and helps to quieten their movements, leading one towards the undisturbed state of silence which dwells in the very seat of consciousness. Yoga is thus the art and science of mental discipline through which the mind becomes cultured and matured.

The subject is in five parts and contains articles, videos and quotes. It is advisable to not rush through our subjects consuming the content quickly. Apply a reflective mode where you might read an article prior to or immediately after practice. Where quotes are used, they are often accompanied by an extract of the text. Look up other quotes used (as they often have the source and page noted) and read the complete portion of the text. A copy of Light on Yoga Sutras of Patanjali is recommended for your study. You might consider covering one part of the subject each week. T-Ph09 is a lifetime enrollment.

Shopping Cart